Rosemary’s Baby…or an ode to Ruth Gordon

After watching Rosemary’s Baby for the first time in over 15 years, I realize that instead of writing a review I would simply like to post a bunch of stuff that shows my love for Ruth Gordon.

From the very beginning of the movie she is the epitome of old-lady chic:

steppin' out with my Ruthie

steppin’ out with my Ruthie

Ladies and gentlemen…put your hands together for Ruth Gordon as Minnie Castavet:

flawless

flawless

Once Minnie and her husband decide they’d like to implant Satan’s spawn in poor Rosemary Woodhouse’s (played flawlessly by Mia Farrow) baby-maker, they invite Rosemary and her husband, Guy, to a dinner party. Look at Minnie’s table manners!

now THIS is acting

now THIS is acting

Minnie and her buddy Laura-Louise get comfy at Rosemary’s house. Ruth Gordon does a god-awful interpretation of knitting but I love her anyways:

she can do it all

she can do it all

After a while Minnie just won’t go away with her crazy red devil-loving eyes:

I wish my neighbors were this cool (minus Satanism)

I wish my neighbors were this cool (minus Satanism)

After a bunch of really disturbing madness involving Satan’s spawn’s conception and a bunch of gaslighting that drives Rosemary (understandably) batty…Minnie is still there at the end of the movie.

I like to think she becomes the devil-baby’s Auntie Mame.

no one ever made Satanism seem so effortless

no one ever made Satanism seem so effortless

I’m not the only one who loved Ruth Gordon in this. Apparently the Oscar® committee used to have some taste:

YASSSS

YASSSS

Thanks for everything, Ruth Gordon. Everything you do is pure gold (except Where’s Poppa...ugh).

*NOTE * – I will be reviewing all three of Polanski’s Apartment Trilogy movies this month!

  • Zoombear
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment