What a beautiful day…out in the “Sunshine”…

Tonight, we are off to a bit of a late start, but hopefully we will be back on track tomorrow! Tonight we watched Sunshine, a very awesome movie, for the most part, about a dying sun and our race to fix it… I am going to try and synopsize, yet go through the movie without telling too much detail… so deal with it cause it’s my first post! :)

Ok… So the first part of Sunshine had me turning up my TV to “11″ do we really need a dude with a monotonic voice beginning the film..? Not only monotonic but with a voice so low I had to rewind more than once..? Ok, Ok, back to the actual movie…

The opening scene, minus the monotonic monologue was, to me, breathtaking. An image (CGI?) of the sun, as it would appear if you were, something like 46 million miles away, which is SUPER close if you know your astronomy.. The character Searle, played by Cliff Curtis, is in the “viewing” room looking at the sun. At first I thought that maybe he would be the villain, I kept trying to figure out what was going on with him most of the movie, because they kept taking shots of him sulking somewhere, or asking random questions… I thought maybe the sun had hypnotized him or something… With his all the time look of sunburnt peeling skin.. I guess you have to watch the movie to know if he is the villain… :) The movie has its first twist with the cliche should we be humans or should we keep to the mission? If you watch this, you, like I wanted to will scream at your TV, KEEP TO THE MISSION, FOR THE LOVE OF MIKE!!!! But alas, the movie would be all too short had that happened.. They go off mission, there are mishaps and hilarity ensues… No, not really… We have our first casualty within minutes of the mission going terribly awry.. Time begins to move fairly quickly now in the movie and the team is forced to continue on to their new destination. A few more cliche moments, there is even a line in the movie about if they should be doing this..? It was something like, ” are we all going to be killed by aliens on this ship?” and then the all too familiar suggestion, “maybe we should split up?” NO DONT SPLIT UP FOR THE LOVE OF MIKE!!! HAVENT YOU EVER SEEN A HORROR MOVIE BEFORE!!!?? STAY TOGETHER FOR PETES SAKE!!!! But alas again, the characters split up and more things go awry.. (Note: at this moment, when they are getting to this new place, be very mindful of the screen.. very creepy things happen.. maybe not creepy to you, but it always creeps me out when movies do this…)

A few crew members short now and they seem to be back on track and have most of what they need until dun dun dun, HUGE twist, that you might see coming, like I did. I’m not sure if the villain in this is a crazy person or the actual devil… I got really REALLY confused because the shots kept shaking and blurring and I just wanted the screen to stop and have a clear picture.. I mean, I understand, weird crazy eyes are really creepy and shadows and blurry stuff.. But, so was the villain, or what I saw of the villain.. I think you only get one GOOD shot and it’s almost at the end… I WAS NOT satisfied with the end at all.. I wanted boom smash pow, haaaah.. but no..it was as if time stopped and they have the final scene on earth… The entire movie was in space, it should have been finished in space with a final piece de resistance….

In all a very good movie, not very horror, more psychological thriller/horror. It reminds me of Even Horizon, or Pandorum, or any other space horro flick, minus the aliens… INSANE cast, including Captain America, Rose Byrne, The Scarecrow, Michelle Yeoh, the guy who played Barry Winchell in A Soldier’s girl and a few others that were awesome.. Watch it!

Check out the link! http://finalgirl.blogspot.com/2012/09/shocktober-ahoy.html

Written by Lady Buffnstuff

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What a beautiful day…out in the “Sunshine”…

  1. Pingback: SHOCKtober 2012 – Day 1: Sunshine (2007) « Aim for the Head

  2. Hi exceptional blog! Does running a blog similar to this take a massive amount work?
    I have absolutely no expertise in coding but I was hoping to start my own blog in the near
    future. Anyhow, should you have any recommendations or techniques for
    new blog owners please share. I understand this is off subject
    nevertheless I simply had to ask. Cheers!

  3. sexy chicks says:

    It’s fantastic that you are getting ideas from this post as well as from our dialogue made at this place.

Leave a Reply

